1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (6 votes, average: 4.83 out of 5)

When you turn on iCloud Photos, all of your photos and videos are copied to iCloud and form a large library on Apple servers.

Keeping iCloud Photos enabled on your iPhone may quickly drain the 5 GBs of free iCloud storage provided by Apple. Once your storage is full, you won’t be able to take any pictures with your iPhone unless you upgrade your iCloud storage plan.

Therefore, we recommend that you turn off iCloud Photos following these quick steps and manage photos on your iPhone or save them to PC. With CopyTrans Photo, you can manage your photos without iCloud or iTunes.

How do I know if iCloud Photos are enabled on my iPhone?

Not sure if iCloud Photos are enabled on your device? Then open Settings, tap your account name, then iCloud > Photos and see if the toggle is ON or OFF.

For iOS 13 and below, use the following method:

When you turn on iCloud Photos, Camera Roll album will be replaced with the All Photos album:

  1. Open the Photos app on your iPhone or iPad;

  2. Make sure your view is set to “Albums”: albums view on iphone

  3. If you see “All Photos” on top instead of “Camera Roll”, then iCloud Photo Library is enabled. cameara roll vs all photos on iphone

Why should I disable iCloud Photos?

If you have iCloud Photos enabled on your device, the originals are not stored on your iPhone. The images on your iPhone are just thumbnails, while high-quality originals are stored in iCloud. In addition, CopyTrans Photo will not function correctly in combination with iCloud Photos.

With iCloud Photos enabled, you will run out of iCloud storage rapidly. As a result, you’ll be prevented from making iCloud backups, syncing photos or saving anything else in your iCloud account. If you do not want to upgrade your storage plan and pay each month, we recommend that you deactivate the function as soon as possible.

How to turn off iCloud Photos on my iPhone?

  1. On the iPhone, navigate to Settings > iCloud icloud settings on iphone

  2. In iCloud settings, tap “Photos” photos settings under icloud on ios 9

  3. If you want your photos to remain on device, choose “Download and Keep originals”. Then, turn off iCloud Photos using the toggle.

    disable iCloud Photos on iPhone

The amount of free iPhone storage doesn’t get any bigger over time – it’s rather the opposite. So don’t be surprised if one day, when you attempt to bring photos from iCloud back to your iPhone, you see a notification “Cannot Download Photos and Videos“, suggesting there is not enough storage on your iPhone.

If you enabled iCloud Photo Library in combination and chose to “Optimize iPhone Storage”, the full-resolution versions of your photos will be stored in iCloud. On your iPhone, you will only have access to lower-quality copies of the photos. optimize iphone storage on iphone

💡 The easiest way not to lose photos and free up iCloud space is to use CopyTrans Cloudly and download all your photos from iCloud to PC. Then, you will be able to transfer your photos from PC to your iPhone and back with CopyTrans Photo.

Turn off iCloud – how to manage photos?

If you turn off iCloud Photos and don’t want to use iCloud any longer, CopyTrans Cloudly will help you:

Download your entire iCloud library to PC in one go;

Delete all photos from iCloud in one click to free up space in iCloud;

Recover permanently deleted photos from iCloud.

Try CopyTrans Cloudly for free

CopyTrans Cloudly main

If you want to transfer some of your images from iPhone to PC or back up your entire iPhone photo library to an external hard drive, use our CopyTrans Photo app. By using it in combination with CopyTrans Cloudly, you can truly become the master of your photos! Download and try it here:

Download CopyTrans Photo

Use CopyTrans Photo to manage your photos offline without iCloud or iTunes. With CopyTrans Photo you can:

✅ Regularly back up iPhone photos to PC;

✅ Regularly delete iPhone photos you backed up to save space;

✅ Regularly transfer photos from PC to iPhone.

CopyTrans Photo main

Try CopyTrans Photo for free

How can I turn off iCloud?

When you turn off iCloud, you will be asked if you wish to keep a copy of the information that you store in iCloud on your device. Also, signing out of iCloud will sign you out of Find My iPhone, iMessages, FaceTime and some other apps.

These instructions on how to turn off iCloud apply to all devices with iOS 10.3 or above:

  1. On your iPhone, go to Settings > [your name] > Sign Out (at the bottom of the screen).

  2. Enter your Apple ID and tap Turn Off.

  3. Select the data types that should be copied to your device.

  4. After this, select Sign Out in the top right corner.

  5. Tap Sign Out one more time to confirm that you want to sign out of iCloud.

Was this guide helpful? If you have any related questions, leave them in the comment section below.

Avatar for krasimir

By krasimir

Krasimir is an avid marketing aficionado and a tech-support specialist in charge of the English-speaking market. He grew up in Bulgaria and on the island of Mauritius where he became passionate about windsurfing and photography.