1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (48 votes, average: 3.77 out of 5)

How do you delete photos from iCloud? This article will show you how to delete iCloud photos in 2 ways. As a rule, you have iCloud Photo Library enabled on your device by default. Also by default, you will only be given 5 GB of free iCloud storage, which get used up pretty quickly.
iCloud storage full

If you are uncomfortable with entrusting your photos to any cloud service, or if you simply don’t want to pay for iCloud storage anymore, this article will show you how to delete pictures from iCloud and downgrade your iCloud storage plan.

TIP: If you have Photostream enabled, check out this article by Apple on how to delete photos from My Photostream.

Don’t forget to make regular backups of your photos to your computer, so you won’t completely lose your photos if something happens to your iPhone. Anyway, let’s get started! Choose the method you prefer below:

We also thought that you might be interested in:

Delete all photos from iCloud

  1. To help you mass-delete photos from iCloud, we have deleloped a program of our own: CopyTrans Cloudly. Download it here:
    Download iCloud photos

  2. Run the app. Enter your Apple ID and password.
    Enter Apple ID and password

  3. If you have two-factor authentication enabled, please allow the connection on one of your devices:
    Apple ID sign in requested

  4. Enter the code:
    Apple ID verification code
    Two factor authentication

  5. Wait until your iCloud Photo Library is loaded. To delete all the photos and videos from iCloud, click on “Delete”:
    Delete photos from iCloud Photo Library

  6. Confirm that you want to delete ALL your photos and videos from iCloud by clicking on the checkbox.

    Important: Your photos and videos will be deleted from all devices synced with the current iCloud account. To safeguard yourself against any unwanted loss, you can disable iCloud Photo Library on your device. Go to your iPhone settings >> tap on your name >> iCloud >> Photos >> switch off iCloud Photo Library.
    disable icloud photo library on iphone

  7. Voila! All you need to do now is wait until all your photos and videos are deleted.
    Delete all photos from iCloud Photo Library

  8. BONUS: If you accidentally deleted files that you didn’t mean to delete, don’t panic: you can stillrescue your permanently deleted photos using a little trick with CopyTrans Cloudly! Who would’ve thought?

    Delete multiple photos from iCloud (not all at once): Method 1

    If you do not want to delete all the photos at once, select photos for deletion manually at iСloud.com.

    1. Go to iСloud.com and log in using your Apple ID and password. iCloud sign in page

    2. Click on Photos. Click on Photos icon in iCloud

    3. You will see all the photos and videos stored in your iCloud Photo Library. Select the one(s) you want to delete and click on the trash bin icon.

      Delete iCloud photos one by one

    4. You can also delete photos by moments. Hover over the moment and you will see two buttons: plus sign and share sign (1). Click on either of them and the whole moment will be selected. Now you can click on the Trash bin icon (2) and delete the entire moment.

      Delete iCloud photos by moments

    5. Delete multiple photos from iCloud (not all at once): Method 2

      It is also possible to delete iCloud photos directly from your device (iPhone/iPad) if you have iCloud Photo Library enabled.

      1. To make sure your iCloud Photo Library is enabled, go to Settings > tap on your name on top > iCloud > Photos. The switch next to iCloud Photo Library should be on.
        iCloud Photo library is enabled on your Apple device when the toggle is green

      2. Go to your Photos app, tap Select in the top right corner, and then select all the photos you want to delete.
        Click Select

      3. Press the Trash Bin icon in the bottom-right corner. Don’t forget to delete your photos from Recently Deleted folder as well 🙂

      4. How to delete photos from iPhone but not iCloud

        Sometimes you may want to delete photos from your iPhone (for example, to free up space), but keep them in iCloud as a backup. But if your iCLoud Photo Library is enabled, you can’t do it: if you delete photos on your iPhone, they will be deleted from iCloud, too. The easiest way to deal with this is simply to turn off your iCloud Photo Library. Here’s how to do that: on your iPhone go to Settings > Apple ID (your name) > iCloud > Photos and then turn off iCloud Photo Library.
        How to disable iCloud Photos
        Once you’ve done that, all your photos already uploaded to iCloud will be stored on Apple servers. You can delete photos from your iPhone and they still will be in iCloud.

        That’s it! Now you know 3 ways of deleting iCloud photos and can even delete photos from iPhone while still keeping them in iCloud. If your storage still exceeds 5 GB, check out our tips on how to clear more iCloud storage.

Avatar for Irina CopyTrans

By Irina CopyTrans

Irina is a marketing and tech-support specialist in charge of the English-speaking market, who dyes her hair in the color of her cats' fur (future cat lady detected) and enjoys sitting on her balcony on a rainy day reading books, watching TV shows, playing video games and drinking hot chocolate. With marshmallows.