1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (8 votes, average: 4.13 out of 5)
Loading...

iTunes keeps only the latest iPhone backup for any given device. Each time you sync or back up iPhone or iPad, iTunes overwrites the previous backup potentially leading to important content being lost. You are especially concerned if you back up iPhone regularly or when you accidentally back up your newly updated empty iPhone.

Don’t wait until you need to pay hard cash to recover lost iPhone content. This article explains how to back up iPhone without overwriting the previous backup, at any time and for free via CopyTrans Shelbee.

Let’s back up iPhone without overwriting the previous backup

  1. Download and install CopyTrans Shelbee on your PC. Download CopyTrans Shelbee

  2. Start CopyTrans Shelbee, connect the iPhone and click on “Backup”. Choose Backup in the main menu

  3. On the next screen, click “Full backup”.Choose Full Backup

  4. Now select the place where to save the backup. Select a location other than the default iTunes folder by clicking on the pencil symbol. Click on the blue pencil to choose the destination

    By default this is the same location where iTunes keeps iPhone backups on your computer, but unlike iTunes, CopyTrans Shelbee allows to save the backup wherever you want.

  5. The data you selected will overwrite the existing data on your phone. Your messages will be overwritten

  6. The iPhone backup begins while the previous backup remains unchanged. Backup in progress...

  7. That’s it; upon successful completion of the backup, click “Done”. Backup of your phone was successful

    The new backup is created at the place of your choice, away from the previous backup made by iTunes. Your saved backup

Making latest changes iPhone backups with CopyTrans Shelbee

We recommend using CopyTrans Shelbee’s “Latest changes” feature for your next iPhone backup. “Latest changes” backups don’t overwrite old iPhone backups, take up less space and are quicker.

  1. Run CopyTrans Shelbee and click through “Backup” > “Latest changes”. Choose Full Backup

  2. Click the pencil symbol to select the previous backup on which to base the new one. Select the previous backup

    NOTE: You need to have made at least one full backup with CopyTrans Shelbee to use the feature.

You can make as many “Latest changes” backups as you wish and whenever you want. Both the previous and new iPhone backups are stored at the location of your choice. The list of your backups

When the time comes, you can select to restore from any of the backups you made. The list of your backups

NOTE: We recommend selecting the backup entry dated most recently. This way, all iOS content and most recent changes made until the date of the entry will be restored back to the iPhone. You only need to restore once.

This is how to save multiple iPhone backups without overwriting the old ones.

Avatar for krasimir

By krasimir

Krasimir is an avid marketing aficionado and a tech-support specialist in charge of the English-speaking market. He grew up in Bulgaria and on the island of Mauritius where he became passionate about windsurfing and photography.