Here’s how to download all photos and videos from iCloud.
Here’s how to mass delete all your photos and videos from iCloud.
Some of you may know that, starting from iOS 8.1, Apple introduced iCloud Photo Library. It syncs your Photo Library across all your devices connected to the same Apple ID. As convenient as it may be to have it enabled, we’ve learnt that it may create a bit of confusion among users.
Let’s imagine you have an iPhone and an iPad both connected to the same Apple ID, and iCloud Photo Library enabled on both devices. The good news is that all your photos are being automatically backed up to iCloud, so in the event of losing your iPhone, for example, you will have all your photos stored in iCloud (and iPad), and you will be able to see all of them when you connect the new iPhone to your Apple ID.
Here are a few negative points:
First, when you delete a picture from one of your devices, it gets deleted everywhere. Well, that might not be a negative point for everyone, but I was quite surprised that you can’t delete a photo from only one of your devices.
Second, you only get 5 GB of free storage with iCloud. If you exceed the limit, you have to pay. That space fills up quite quickly, especially if you have iCloud backups enabled on your device.
Third, if you are concerned about the security of your data, I wouldn’t recommend storing your photos in any kind of cloud. The servers belong to some other company, and you have very little control over what happens to your data. That’s especially dangerous if someone gets ahold of your Apple ID and password.
Here’s what Apple does to permanently deleted photos, just as an example.